Why do I drink tea?

I will be honest, I don’t drink tea everyday. Some weeks I do, and sometimes I fall out of the habit. But that’s okay. If you are a tea lover like myself, this is bound to happen because, well, life, but it’s important that I keep drinking tea as much as possible.

Why?

As a Chajin, I value tea as my meditational, reflective, and silent space. It’s a time to do nothing but focus on tea. Just like yoga for people (which is also important to me), tea is a time to heal, recover, and be empty.

For those first getting into tea, this is a part of a tea practice that will greatly influence your life. Just like any meditation, it is so freeing and amazing what a couple moments of a relaxed and devoted space can do to your day. Also, by becoming educated and by actually tasting tea you can grow with it, and you will be amazed at the progress of your tea journey. I know I was.

Before I became more invested in my tea practice, I would drink tea every now and then, but it truly wasn’t enough to truly notice a difference in my life, however, I did acknowledge the fact that every time I did drink tea, I felt better. Every time I serve someone tea, they will always say that it makes them feel good.

It’s warm, comforting, refreshing, delicious, and is harmonious with the Qi in your body. After a long tea session, you can experience the feeling of “tea drunk” which IS a thing! This feeling is your mind and body at ease, bliss, and awareness, that is irreplaceable.

You get this feeling from tea from two compounds found in the plant, caffeine and catechins. Catechins are especially apparent in green tea. The caffeine, as you know, boosts energy, but it also assist the brain to focus and increase mental clarity, hence why tea became big for monks, it enabled them to meditate for very long periods of time without falling asleep. The catechins are a powerful antioxidant, and it also gives you the calm and relaxed effects that you feel. “Calm and awake” – WuDe.

These two wonderful things together = bliss. Tea drunk. It is wonderful and healing. Whenever I drink tea, I feel motivated and more focused, but I’m more calm, and able to assess the rest of my day. The first time I became actually aware of these feelings and how it affected me, I said to myself that it was essential I drank tea more often.

When I became devoted to making time and space for drinking tea, I noticed a huge difference in my physical, mental, and spiritual well being. I achieved more sleep, even when drinking tea later in the afternoon. I woke up way more motivated to go to work and I felt more rested. My body felt way better. I have knee problems, and I truly believe that the pain has subsided. I didn’t expect that to happen at ALL. My digestion felt regular, and I overall have no aches.

Creating a space for tea affects your mind alone, not just the tea itself. With respecting the leaves, along with your teaware, your chaxi (tea setup/stage), and yourself, it can become very relaxing and embraces your own style and creativity. Making a tea space that is truly YOURS makes a huge difference in your enjoyment. It also forces you to have an upkeep with cleanliness, which is really important with drinking tea (and keeping a wabisabi lifestyle). “Cleanliness is close to Godliness”. Before, during, and after (setting up, drinking, and cleaning) are all equally important parts in a session, and should be treated with utmost respect.

Drinking tea in this way has affected my every day. Focusing on tea every day has made me focus on everything else in my life. I give everything way more attention than I used to. My room has never been more clean and less cluttered in my life. I feel great. I’m happy. I feel more free, and more at ease with what life has to throw at me.

All of this from drinking tea.

No amount of words can express truly how much it has made a positive impact on my life, certainly because it is different for everyone, but it is undeniably a fact that is has only benefited me and my well being.

I hope, if you don’t already, decide to drink tea everyday. If you need advice on where to begin, feel free to email me at chakodama@gmail.com

I would love to hear from you. Much love, and happy cha drinkin!

 

3 thoughts on “Why do I drink tea?

Leave a Reply

