A quick miso…

If you know me personally (or on IG), you are aware that I am a huge lover of cooking. It is my job after all…..but it is also what I do for fun. It’s a passion of mine just like tea is. I do it everyday, and am always striving to learn more and more about it.

Since I work as a cook full time, sometimes it’s difficult to find the motivation to want to cook for myself. I love it so, but when I come home I’m sometimes never hungry, and I don’t “feel like it” because of exhaustion. Which is a terrible excuse…

Today I haven’t really planned on making anything. But, my mom was hungry..

My mom loves kimchi. I’ve been making my own for a short while, and she always talks about it and wanted it, but she doesn’t really know what to do with it (you can do anything with it really). I told her she should make some rice to make with it… and she agreed. But the idea of just eating rice with kimchi was…. well, not as much of a satisfying meal as I was craving.

Meanwhile, I was not planning on cooking at all. I was too tired, and not ‘in the mood’. I was hungry though….I also wanted to be able to eat more than kimchi and rice, and I wanted my mom to as well!!

We barely had anything in the fridge.

Since I haven’t gone to the farmers market in a while (I’ve been busy…. more excuses), I noticed the veggies I had were going limp, so I decided to roast carrots and make some miso soup. I always have miso in the fridge!!

I loved how the soup came out so much I decided to share it!

Disclaimer…. I will not list exact amounts of each ingredient for there is SO much room for experimentation.

IMG_2147

 

All it took was:

  • veggie stock (I make some by boiling some water, kombu, 3 slices of daikon radish, and the shiitake mushroom stems for about 10-15 minutes. Simple!)
  • miso – in this case I used red
  • bok choy
  • shiitake mushrooms
  • sesame seeds

Try to only use organic and/or local! Health and sustainability is key and wabi sabi….

While making the stock, use a mortar and pestle to crush up the sesame seeds.

IMG_2145

 

IMG_2142

After making the stock, remove the kombu and other veggies, and simmer the stock with about 1-2 tbsp. of the miso (follow packing instructions!). Add the sesame seed “paste”, cut bok choy, and the shiitake mushrooms heads. I carved a star in the mushrooms for practice and fun….it makes it aesthetically pleasing and the art of taking simple ingredients and making it your own can improve your thoughts of food. I recommend trying to do it, for it can make your cooking more artistic and meditational.

Simmer for maybe 3 minutes. And done!

It was really wonderful and it was just an example of taking older veggies in the fridge, and making an easy, simple, quick meal that was satisfying and delicious.

I cook a lot and have a crap ton of recipes, so why do I post a simple miso? 1. because it was tasty, 2. it was because when I came home from work today I said to myself “I am not going to make anything because I am too tired from work”, and  3. Making yourself food is not hard.

I tend to be guilty of taking hours to cook at home. Not even because of labor, but because I like to. However, because of this mentality, when I want something quickly, or when I don’t feel like cooking, or when it’s late….whatever the reason…. basically if I don’t have the inspiration to do it, I wont cook.

But cooking is really important, and I know way too many people who don’t cook at all. I understand it’s not for everybody, but it’s literally what keeps you alive! We have become separated from the very things that sustain our lives, because of “responsibilities” that come first apparently (they don’t).

Not having the time to do it is totally understandable. So, for me, having quick and healthy options for food is important, for humans of all sorts.

Instead when you’re too tired to make anything and you’re about to head to Chipotle for a way overpriced burrito, maybe try this soup. With whatever old veggies you got left instead of what I used….see what you can do. Utilize your ingredients, and never waste! Maybe take the extra 5 minutes and make “veggie art” as I call it. It is fun and rewarding. Begin to look at cooking as a practice, as your life source, instead of a chore. You may end up cooking more and more of your meals everyday, and you may end up cooking for your loved ones even more, and they will so appreciate it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

